Pride Shockwave, 31st December 2005

Pride Shockwave

Photo from

2005 was a good year for Pride, with incredible events that served as historical milestones for MMA. This year, Pride held it’s first ever Welterweight and Lightweight tournaments. Pride also held an incredibly competitive Middleweight Grand Prix.

Pride Shockwave is considered one of the most epic events in Pride history. The evening featured a main event fight between Wanderlei Silva and Ricardo Arona for the Pride Middleweight Championship. This was an especially interesting fight since Ricardo Arona had previously defeated Wanderlei Silva in the semi-finals of the Pride Middleweight Grand Prix in Pride Final Conflict held on the 28th August 2005.
The event also featured the final rounds of the first ever Pride Welterweight tournament between MMA legends Murilo Bustamante and Dan Henderson. Shockwave 2005 also had the final round of the first ever Pride Lightweight tournament between Takanori Gomi and Hayat Sakurai. The winners of these tournaments would be crowned as Pride’s first ever Welterweight Champion and Lightweight Champion.

As if the evening wasn’t exciting enough, Pride Shockwave 2005 also features an awesome match up between Mirko “Crocop” Filipovic vs Mark Hunt.

The event is about 3 hours long. Perfect for a lazy MMA Sunday. 

2005 Pride Middleweight Grand Prix

The fight between Wanderlei Silva and Ricardo Arona at Pride Shockwave 2005 marks the second time these two MMA legends meet. It is a chance for Wanderlei Silva to avenge the loss Ricardo Arona handed him at the 2005 Pride Middleweight Grand Prix.

Along with Pride Shockwave, the Pride Middleweight Grand Prix is another exciting Pride event. The tournament included legends of MMA.

The opening rounds were held at Pride Total Elimination on 23rd April 2005. Opening round match-ups are an MMA fight fans absolute dream come true.  Kazushi Sakuraba vs Dong-Sik Yoon, Ricardo Arona vs Dean Lister, Kazuhiro Nakamura vs Kevin Randleman, Wanderlei Silva vs Hidehiko Yoshida, Alistair Overeem vs Vitor Belfort! , Antonio Rogerio Nogueira vs Dan Henderson! Mauricio Rua vs Quinton Jackson! (avenging Murilo Rua’s defeat to Quinton Jackson). Click here for the full bracket. If those match-ups don’t get you excited, it is questionable what would.

2005 Pride Lightweight Tournament

Pride Shockwave is the final round of the 2005 Pride Lightweight Tournament between Takanori Gomi and Hayato Sakurai. This is the event that will crown the first ever Pride Lightweight Champion.

Pride Bushido 9 held on 25th September 2005, saw the quarter and semi-finals of the first Welterweight and Lightweight tournaments.

The Lightweight tournament featured notable fighters including Jens Pulver, Yves Edwards, and the milestone fight between two of the best Japanese fighters at the time, Takanori Gomi and Tatsuya Kawajiri.

2005 Pride Welterweight Tournament

Pride Shockwave 2005 would also see the crowning of the first Pride Welterweight Champion. Tournament finalists Dan Henderson and Murilo Bustamante will fight for the honour.

The Pride Welterweight Tournament quarter and semi final rounds also started at Bushido 9. This tournament featured exciting fighters such as Phil Baroni, Ikuhisa “The Punk” Minowa, Dan Henderson, Paulo Filho, Murilo Bustamante, and Ryo Chonan (One of only two people to defeat Anderson “The Spider” Silva via submission).


Pride Shockwave 2005 part 1

Charles Bennett vs Ken Kaneko
James Thompson vs Giant Silva
Sanae Kikuta vs Makoto Takimoto
Aleksander Emelianenko vs Pawel Nastula
Hidehiko Yoshida vs Naoya Ogawa
Dan Henderson vs Murilo Bustamante

Pride Shockwave 2005 part 2

Dan Henderson vs Murilo Bustamante continued
Takanori Gomi vs Hayato Sakurai
Kazushi Sakuraba vs Ikuhisa Minowa
Mark Hunt vs Mirko Crocop
Wanderlei Silva vs Ricardo Arona